Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Sins of the Past by Dee Henderson, Dani Pettrey, and Lynette Eason

Join Three Beloved Masters of Romantic Suspense for Novellas Where the Past Will Not Stay Buried.

Dee Henderson - "Missing"
A Wyoming sheriff is called to Chicago when his elderly mother goes missing from her retirement community. Paired with a savvy Chicago cop, the two soon launch into a race against the clock when they realize something dark may lie at the heart of the disappearance.

Dani Pettrey - "Shadowed"
Adventure, romance, and danger collide when a young Alaskan fisherman nets the body of a Russian open water swimming competitor. Another swimmer, who'd been the dead woman's roommate years ago, is pulled into the search for answers as it grows more and more clear that something sinister is at play.

Lynette Eason - "Blackout"
A young woman once implicated in a robbery gone wrong finds herself at risk years later when the real culprit is up for parole. The loot taken that night has never been found and he believes she knows where it's hidden--only her memory of that night has always been unreliable. Can she remember enough to find her way to safety?

My review:

  I am not a fan of books like this where a few different authors each write a novella.......however, Pettrey and Eason are among my favorite authors, and Henderson has written some great books in the past... so I bit and requested it to review.

  Since I am not sure how to review this book, I will do a short review for each story:

Missing by Dee Henderson:

  Of the three stories in the book, this one would rate the lowest. I liked the main characters, but the plot and answer to the mystery were a tad bit disappointing, but maybe it was just me. It was an interesting story that held my interest. I just found the ending a bit disappointing.

Shadowed by Dani Pettrey:

  I wasn't sure about this one at first. I love Dani's books, and her Alaskan Courage Series is among the best Christian suspense out there...... but it is set in 1979. I was hoping it would pick up where that series left off.

  Then I started reading it, and loved it - I should not have doubted the author. If you have read the Alaskan Courage Series that centers around the motherless and fatherless McKenna adult children, you will definitely want to read this novella. Dani wrote it about the parents and how they met, and of course there is a nail biting mystery going on. This story was the best of the three, and I absolutely loved it. Suspense, cold war, romance, and a lot of mystery and drama....definitely 5 stars.

Blackout by Lynette Eason:

  Lynette is another favorite author who never disappoints, and she proves she can write as great of a novella as she can a full length novel. This one had a great plot, and very likable characters. The author packed a lot of suspense and mystery into so few pages, and she kept me guessing as to what was going to happen next and how it would turn out.

  This novella collection is definitely worth reading, and I recommend it to suspense lovers.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

About the authors:

Dee Henderson is the author of numerous novels, including Taken, Undetected, Unspoken, Full Disclosure, and the acclaimed O'Malley and Uncommon Heroes series. Her books have won or been nominated for several prestigious industry awards, such as the RITA Award, the Christy Award, and the ECPA Gold Medallion. Dee is a lifelong resident of Illinois. Learn more at www.deehenderson.com.

Dani Pettrey is a wife, home-schooling mom, and the acclaimed author of the Alaskan Courage romantic suspense series, which includes her bestselling novels Submerged, Shattered, Stranded, Silenced, and Sabotaged. Her books have been honored with the Daphne du Maurier award, two HOLT Medallions, two National Readers' Choice Awards, the Gail Wilson Award of Excellence, and Christian Retailing's Best Award, among others.

She feels blessed to write inspirational romantic suspense because it incorporates so many things she loves--the thrill of adventure, nail-biting suspense, the deepening of her characters' faith, and plenty of romance. She and her husband reside in Maryland, where they enjoy time with their two daughters, a son-in-law, and a super adorable grandson. You can find her online at danipettrey.com.

Lynette Eason is the bestselling author of the Women of Justice series, the Deadly Reunions series,
and the Hidden Identity series, as well as Always Watching and Without Warning in the Elite Guardians series. She is the winner of an ACFW Carol Award, the Selah Award, and the Inspirational Readers' Choice Award. She has a master's degree in education from Converse College and lives in South Carolina. Learn more at www.lynetteeason.com.

Sins of the Past is available from Bethany House Publishers, part of the Baker Publishing Group.

Thanks to Bethany House for the review copy.


The Ginger Librarian said...

Great review/post! Dani Pettrey is one of my all-time favorite authors and I look forward to reading this book! :)

Mark said...