Monday, February 22, 2010

Double Trouble by Susan May Warren

With one solved case under her belt, PJ Sugar is ready to dive into her career as a private investigator. Or at least a PI’s assistant until she can prove herself to Jeremy Kane, her new boss. Suddenly PJ’s seeing crime everywhere. But is it just in her head, or can she trust her instincts? When she takes on her first official case—house-sitting for a witness in protective custody—Jeremy assures her there’s no danger involved. But it soon becomes clear that there is someone after the witness . . . and now they’re after PJ, too.

This is the second book in a series, and I felt like I was jumping into the middle of the story - should have read the first book first. I still enjoyed the book though. Not only is it a good mystery, it also is a humorous story. Though more geared for women, I got into the story and probably liked the book as well as a woman reading it would. :-)

The characters in the book were real, likable, and amusing. If you have never read a book by Susan May Warren, this series would be a great place to start, but I would recommend reading the first book, Nothing But Trouble, first.

About the author:

Susan May Warren served with her husband and four children as a missionary in Russia for eight years before she and her family returned home to the States. She now writes full-time as her husband runs a lodge on Lake Superior in northern Minnesota. Susan and her family enjoy hiking, canoeing, and being involved in their local church. Susan holds a BA in mass communications from the University of Minnesota and is a the author of several novellas and many novels with Tyndale House Publishers, including Happily Ever After, the American Christian Fiction Romance Writers' 2004 Book of the Year and a 2003 Christy Award finalist. Other books in that series include Tying the Knot and The Perfect Match. Following that, Susan wrote Team Hope, a three-book romantic-adventure series about a team of search-and-rescue workers. Reclaiming Nick, Taming Rafe, and Finding Stefanie comprise Susan's romantic Noble Legacy series set in Montana. Visit Susan's Web site at

Double Trouble is available from Tyndale Publishing.
Thanks to Litfuse for the review copy.