Tuesday, September 7, 2021

Hostile Intent, Danger Never Sleeps #4 by Lynette Eason

Book description:

 Secrets are about to be revealed . . . but will the guilty be brought to justice?

Ava Jackson entered the military shortly after high school, but her mother's illness has forced her to request an early discharge. She already lost her father while deployed, and there's no way she's going to let her mother die alone. But after a visit to the nursing facility where her mother lives, Ava is attacked walking back to her car. Fortunately, FBI Special Agent Caden Denning arrives in time to help fight off her attacker.

Caden reveals to Ava that she may hold the key to the murders of three families, and he needs her help before anyone else is harmed. The hits show a pattern, and clearly the killer has an agenda. But if Caden and Ava can't discover what it is, Ava may be next on the hit list.

My review:

  I have been a fan of Lynette Eason's books since the first one I read and reviewed ten years ago. She has written six different series for Revell, and each one has been totally different from the others. This series has revolved around mostly characters in the military, or who were formally in the military.

  This last book in the series was a wild ride, and a definite page turner. The plot was very well done. There was a lot going on and no visible connection between murders of whole families, nor was it obvious at first what the heroine of the story had to what was going on. The bad guy's identity also was not obvious for a while.

 I loved the characters in this series, and Caden - the hero of this book - was one of the most likable ones. 

 This is a somewhat difficult review to do without giving what are somewhat spoilers away if I say what the book involved....but it was an awesome read and had a lot of old and new secrets .

  The romance part of the book was very well done, and had its humorous moments, especially since Ava never gave a guy a third date and Caden was determined to have a third date and beyond.

  Hostile Intent was an awesome read, and had a great ending to the book and series that had some of the charters from the other book.

I was provided a copy of this book for review purposes. All opinions in this review are my own.

About the author: 

Lynette Eason is the bestselling author of the Danger Never Sleeps, Blue Justice, Women of Justice, Deadly Reunions, Hidden Identity, and Elite Guardians series. She is the winner of three ACFW Carol Awards, the Selah Award, and the Inspirational Reader's Choice Award, among others. She is a graduate of the University of South Carolina and has a master's degree in education from Converse College. Eason lives in South Carolina with her husband and two children. Learn more at www.lynetteeason.com.

                                                                           Book #1


                                                                            Book #2

                                                                           Book #3