Sunday, October 11, 2020

The Price of Valor, Global Search and Rescue #3 by Susan May Warren


Book description:

A high-octane mix of love and adventure

Kidnapped by rebels while serving as a humanitarian aid worker in Chechnya, Signe Kincaid has spent the past decade secreting out valuable information about Russian assets in the US to her CIA handler. Fearing for her daughter after being discovered as an operative, Signe sends her to former Navy SEAL Hamilton Jones for safekeeping. Signe is ready to give her life for her country, and she can hardly expect Ham to rescue her after breaking his heart over and over.

Hamilton Jones has never forgotten the only woman he loved--and he can't believe after all these years she's shown up alive. But can he forgive her for her secrets? And, when Ham discovers the reason Signe has kept her distance, he must choose between love for her and love for the nation he has vowed to protect.

Will he save the many? Or the few? And what is the price of valor?

My review:

  I have recently become a fan of Susan May Warren's books. In just this year, I have read a few of her series and have gotten hooked on her books.

 The Global Search and Rescue Series may be one of her most exciting series. Unfortunately, it appears this is only a three-book series.

 The Price of Valor centers on the leader of the Global Search and Rescue group, Hamilton (Ham) Jones, and his CIA agent wife who he recently found out was alive with the fact that he was the father of a 10 year old daughter.

  This whole series has been awesome and exciting, but this last book tops the other three. In her gripping Marshalls of Montana Series a plot was hatched that possibly implicated the female Vice President of the USA nominee. I was disappointed when that series ended without that being resolved. Slight spoiler: that gets resolved in a very dramatic and exciting way in this book. One thing I like about Warren's writing is she pulls characters from other series into another series.....and this book had characters from the Marshalls of Montana and The Montana Rescue Series.

 The author takes some of her characters to Italy and tosses them into a situation that involves an erupting volcano and tsunami. As her heroes fight for their lives while rescuing others, they also run for their lives as they are involved in international espionage, spies,  and political intrigue. Warren  did an excellent job on describing the events in a town hit with an erupting volcano and tsunami. It was a very gripping and exciting part of the book, though the whole book was gripping and exciting. 

 As always, her characters totally rocked.

 Among all the drama and action, the book also dealt with Ham's struggles to forgive his wife for deserting him for 10 years, for having a daughter he didn't know about, and what she did to survive and work for her country.

 It may seem a weird thing to do, but I clapped after finishing the book. It really was that good.

  I highly recommend this book, and the whole series.....but I do advise reading the Marshalls of Montana Series first...which may be her best series ever.

I was provided a copy of this book for review purposes. All opinions in this review are my own.

About the author:

Susan May Warren is the USA Today bestselling author of more than 65 novels with more than 1 million books sold, including The Way of the Brave and The Heart of a Hero, as well as the Montana Rescue series. Winner of a RITA Award and multiple Christy and Carol Awards, as well as the HOLT Medallion and numerous Readers' Choice Awards, Susan makes her home in Minnesota. Find her online at, on Facebook @SusanMayWarrenFiction, and on Twitter @susanmaywarren.

The Price of Valor and the rest of the Global Search and Rescue Series is available from Revell, part of the Baker Publishing Group.

Thanks to Revell for the review copy.

                                                                        Book #1

                                                                           Book #2

                                                           The Montana Marshalls Series