Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Murder Is No Accident, Hidden Springs Mystery #3 by A.H. Gabhart

Book description:

Young Maggie Greene may be trespassing in the old, empty Victorian mansion on a quiet street in Hidden Springs, but all she wants is some private time in the magnificent tower room to write her stories. Certain she'll be in trouble if caught, she hides when a realtor shows up. But someone else is in the house too, someone even more worried about getting caught. When Maggie finds the realtor's body at the bottom of a flight of stairs and the other person gone, Deputy Sheriff Michael Keane is called in. He assumes the realtor's death is a tragic accident--until a second person is found dead in the house. When Maggie is threatened, Michael must catch the murderer before anyone else dies.

Cozy mystery fans will love this third installment in The Hidden Springs Mysteries series from an author who knows how to make small-town America sweet, sentimental--and a little sinister.

My review:

   A.H.(Ann) Gabhart has quickly become a favorite author of mine with this series. The Christian fiction market is mostly a woman's market, and it is unusual for a female author to write a series of books where the main character is male..... but that is exactly what this author has done in this series. I also like the fact that this isn't your run of the mill "guy meets girl in trouble, falls for girl, proposes or marries at the end of the book". In this series, there is a very slow romance going on, but the couple has known each other since they were kids and have been in love for pretty much all that time.... and they don't live near each other. The romance does not dominate the story, which is cool for this confirmed bachelor. :)

  Onto this book: Murder Is No Accident is #3 in the Hidden Mystery Series, and hopefully not the last..... though the ending may indicate it is the final book. As with the previous two books. the story revolves around Deputy Sheriff Michael Keane as he tries to keep the small town of Hidden Springs safe.

   Two murders are stopping the town from being safe, and the author does a great job of keeping the reader guessing the identity of the murderer and the reason for the murders. I have enjoyed every book in this series, but this one may be the best of the three. There isn't the page turning non-stop drama and suspense of many suspense novels, but rather an even slower paced suspense that still kept me wanting to read on and not put the book down. I thoroughly enjoyed the book, and though I enjoyed the very climatic ending, I hated to see the end come when I had to leave this fictional town I have come to love.

 I was given a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

About the author:

A. H. Gabhart is Ann H. Gabhart, bestselling author of many novels, including Angel Sister, Small Town Girl, and Love Comes Home, several popular Shaker novels such as The Outsider, The Believer, and The Innocent, and The Heart of Hollyhill series. Ann grew up in a small rural town in Kentucky much like Hidden Springs, but Ann is happy to report nobody was ever murdered on her hometown's courthouse steps. Ann and her husband still live on a farm near that same little town in Kentucky. Learn more at

Murder Is No Accident and the other two books in the Hidden Springs Mystery Series is available from Revell Publishing, part of the Baker Publishing Group.

Thanks to Revell for the review copy.