Friday, September 20, 2013

Dangerous Passage by Lisa Harris

She's dedicated her life to ending violence. But has she moved too deep into a treacherous world?
When two Jane Does are killed on the outskirts of Atlanta, Georgia, detective and behavioral specialist Avery North discovers they share something in common--a magnolia tattoo on their shoulders. Suspecting a serial killer, Avery joins forces with medical examiner Jackson Bryant to solve the crimes and prevent another murder. As they venture deep into a sinister criminal world, Avery and Jackson are taken to the very edge of their abilities--and their hearts.

Dangerous Passage exposes a fully realized and frightening world where every layer peeled back reveals more challenges ahead. You'll be hooked from the start.

My review:
   I have only read one book by this author before I read this one, and remember thinking it was OK, but nothing spectacular. Maybe it is because she has more writing under her belt, but this book was a terrific read. In addition to being a great suspense novel, the author tackles the human trafficking issue, which is something we all need to be aware of and learn more about.

  I liked everything about this book: plot, characters, setting. This book is classified as romantic suspense, but that part of the book took a back seat to the action and suspense, and was not overdone at all, and it wasn't all wrapped up in a neat package at the end either. As with many books like this one, I had a hard time putting it down and read it in one sitting.

  This is the first book in a series, and I look forward to reading the other books that will follow. The author has a plot going on that will cover at least one more book, and has me hooked, waiting to see
how it will work out.

About the author:

   Lisa Harris is an award-winning author with more than 400,000 copies of her works in print. She was a 2011 Christy Award finalist for Blood Ransom and lives in Mozambique together with her husband, Scott, and their three children. Visit her website at

Available September 20 from Revell Publishing, a division of Baker Books Publishing.

Thanks to Revell for the review copy.