Friday, April 1, 2016

Light of the Last by Chuck Black

To Fight What Others Can’t You Must See What Others Don’t

After an accident left him temporarily blind, Drew Carter didn’t just regain his sight. He now sees what others can’t imagine–an entire spiritual realm of mighty beings at war. 

Forget the gift, Drew just wants his life back. Part of that involves Sydney Carlyle, a woman he is inexplicably drawn to. When he’s offered the chance to become a CIA agent, it seems the way to redeem his past. The only problem–his visions of the supernatural realm are increasing in frequency. 

It’s up to the warrior angel Validus and his hand-picked team of heavenly agents to protect the unbelieving Drew. Validus now knows that the young man is at the epicenter of a global spiritual war, and the angels must use a millennia of battle experience keep Drew alive, for the Fallen want him dead.

Surrounded by spiritual warriors and targeted by demons, Drew’s faced with an impossible decision that will forever alter the destiny of America...and his own soul.

My review:

   Although this series is classified as juvenile fiction, the plot and writing are such that adults can enjoy it, and this adult sure did. I enjoyed the whole series, and had been eagerly anticipating the third and final book in the series. When it came, I read through it in one sitting; as I could not put it down.

  The book had even more action, suspense, and spiritual warfare then the previous books. It, even more than the previous two books, reminded me of Frank Peretti's first two books that had a lot of spiritual warfare in them. It had more twists and turns in it than I expected, and thought one issue was resolved in a good way - that would be a spoiler to say what it was.

  This book, and the whole series, had some really great characters and a great message of the Gospel that the author was unafraid to put throughout the series. I really liked the main character, and found his adventures thrilling and interesting. I would highly recommend the whole series, and the books must be read in order to know what is going on,

About the author:

Chuck Black first wrote Kingdom’s Edge to inspire his children to read the Bible with renewed zeal. This captivating expanded parable led him to write the Old Testament allegories, Kingdom’s Dawn, Kingdom’s Hope, Kingdom’s Call, and Kingdom’s Quest. Chuck's currents works include the Knights of Arrethtrae series, Call to Arms, and his series in progress, Wars of the Realm.

Chuck is a former F-16 fighter pilot and currently works as an engineer for a firm designing plastic consumer products and has coinvented eleven patented construction products now being sold internationally. He has a degree in electrical and electronic engineering and served eight years in the United States Air Force. Chuck and his wife have six children and live in North Dakota.

It is Chuck’s desire to serve the Lord through his work and to inspire people of all ages to study the scriptures in order to discover the hope and love of a truly majestic King and His Son.

Light of the Last and the other two books in the series are available from Waterbrook/Multnomah Publishing.

Thanks to Waterbrook/Multnomah for the review copy.